Diversity Council


  • To provide a forum where representatives from various segments of the University community can come together to discuss and consider forward-looking, proactive strategies, methods, and approaches that will help to make U.Va a more diverse and welcoming environment at all levels;
  • To create a setting in which representatives can present diversity-related issues and considerations that are occurring either within their own administrative unit, or within other areas that they have either knowledge about or interest in; and
  • To review information and materials that are intended to enhance and celebrate diversity that are being used or discussed in other higher education institutions, or in other settings, to determine whether they might have any applicability to U.Va.


Area/Office Member
President's Office Jonathan Bowen
Vice President and Provost Gertrude Fraser
Provost Employee Council Margaret "Peggy" Dame
Senior Vice President for Development and Public Affairs Michelle Packer
Office of University Communications Sheri Winston
Carolyn Dillard
Vice President and Dean, School of Medicine M. Norman Oliver
Vice President and Chief Executive Officer of the Medical Center Veronica Ford
Vice President for Research Phillip Trella
Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer Tonia Duncan-Rivers
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Gary Nimax
Vice President for Management and Budget Leslie Haughton
Office of Information Technology and Communication Rayshon Tibbs
Vice President and Chief Student Affairs Officer Tabitha Enoch
School of Architecture Sheila Crane
College of Arts and Sciences Hector Amaya
Darden Graduate School of Business Administration Lindsey Kline
Karen Ohen
McIntire School of Commerce Rebecca Leonard
Curry School of Education Christian Steinmetz
School of Continuing and Professional Studies Maria Chee
School of Engineering and Applied Science Carolyn Vallas
School of Law Martha Ballenger
School of Medicine, Center for Health Disparities Judy Pointer
Department of Medicine, Human Resources Brian Gittens
School of Nursing Susan Kools
Frank Batten School of Leadership and Public Policy Kellie Sauls
Office of Admissions Valerie Gregory
Athletics Adrien Harraway
Office of the Dean of Students Vicki Gist
Michelle Sawwan

Marc Guzman
Facilities Management Adettra Thomas
Caitlin Murtaugh
University Police Michael Blakey
Equal Opportunity Programs Rachel Spraker
University Career Services W. Leondias Williams
Faculty Senate George Mentore
General Faculty Council Denise Karaoli
University Libraries Jennifer Harmon
Women's Center Jaronda Miller
Miller Center Andrew Chancey
LGBTQ Student Services and Center Scott Rheinheimer
Student Disability Access Center Bob Diamond
Chris Kinney
Student Representatives Abraham Axler
Jasmine Jackson
Carly Spraggins